A+ A A-
Melinda Vigh

Melinda Vigh

Age: 36
Hometown: Berlin
Category: $$categoryChooser$$
best results / all results:
$$results/N/rank$$ $$results/N/cat_name+name$$ $$results/N/date$$


National Federation
Hungarian Mountaineering and Sport Climbing Federation

Personal details

When you started competing in international competitions, did you see yourself being in the top-10?
Given that there are less than 10 competitors in my category (we were 3 girls in the lower-arm amputee category at my first competition), yes, I expected to be in the top-10. But I hope that our numbers will grow in the near future, and staying in top-10 will be more challenging!
What motivated you to compete rather than just to climb outside?
I like to do both. But I started climbing in the gym, and at the moment I still climb more indoors than on rocks. Competitions give me a good motivation to train hard and improve my climbing. And it’s nice to meet with fellow climbers. But I hope to have more opportunities to climb outside in the future, as I love being in nature.
What are some struggles you face as an athlete?
Convincing route setters that people without a hand or lower arm can climb harder than they think.
What influenced you to start competing?
I thought it would be fun to test my skills and meet fellow climbers. And I wanted to use the exposure competing gives to raise awareness about paraclimbing and the positive effects of climbing on handicapped people in my home countries (Netherlands where I started climbing, Germany where I currently live and Hungary where I come from).
Who most helped you get to where you are right now?
My climbing partners and friends who climb with me regularly. And most importantly, my husband, who supported my ambition to compete and travelled with me to all the competitions.
What advice could you give to Young Athletes?
Find your passion, and keep working hard to reach your dreams. You are capable of more than you think.
What are some of your favourite hobbies?
Hiking and wild camping in Northern Norway, climbing, cooking. I also want to learn cross-country skiing but I need to get a prosthesis for it.