The men’s and women’s Speed title were awarded today at the International Federation of Sport Climbing (IFSC) Asian Championships in Seoul, South Korea.

Competing on home turf, Lee Seungbeom secured the title in the men’s Speed event, besting four-time World Cup gold medallist Veddriq Leonardo of Indonesia in the gold medal race. Taking advantage from Leonardo’s early slip, Lee finished with 5.91 to win the first IFSC gold medal of his career.

With Leonardo taking silver, Team Indonesia placed another climber on the third step of the podium: Aspar Aspar beat Iran’s legendary climber Reza Alipour Shenazandifard in the bronze medal race, closing with 6.19.

For the full results of the men’s Speed event click here.

221014 IFSC News Lee grabs Speed title for the home team Iqamah wins Indonesian derby 01Lee Seungbeom of South Korea won his first IFSC gold medal at Seoul 2022
Photo: KAF

In the women’s Speed event, two Indonesian athletes battled for the Asian title: Nurul Iqamah pocketed the brightest medal with the time of 9.00 seconds – her second in the discipline, after the one won in Bogor, Indonesia, in 2019.

Following an early slip from her rival, Desak Made Rita Kusuma Dewi, Iqamah cruised towards the gold medal, and almost gave it away when she, in turn, lost her grip three holds from the finish pad.

The bronze medal was awarded to Rajiah Sallsabillah, also of Indonesia, who bested Ni Mingwei of China and recorded the fastest time of the round – 7.11 seconds.

For the full results of the women’s Speed event click here.

The final two events of the IFSC Asian Championships Seoul 2022 are the men’s and women’s Boulder & Lead, commencing tomorrow with the semi-final rounds, and concluding on Sunday, 16 October: the women’s final will start at 10:00 AM (UTC+9:00), while the men’s one will start at 2:30 PM.

News and updates about the event will be available on the IFSC official website, and on the Federation’s digital channels: Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, YouTube, and TikTok.

IFSC Asian Championships Seoul 2022

© 2019 ifsc-climbing.org    All Rights Reserved