The newly-appointed Coaches Commission of the International Federation of Sport Climbing (IFSC) met virtually for an inaugural meeting on 13 October 2021. Chair of the Commission, Pavlos Georgiades, hosted the gathering from the IFSC Headquarters in Torino, Italy, alongside IFSC General Director Piero Rebaudengo and Event Officer Alessandro Di Cato.

Representing Sport Climbing coaches across the globe, supporting the development of coaching, and promoting a culture of competition integrity, the IFSC Coaches Commission also works alongside other technical commissions to improve the sport across the board. This week’s meeting not only served as an opportunity to introduce new members to one another, but also as an occasion to outline the commission’s priorities and projects for the coming months.

Commission Chair Pavlos Georgiades said: “My fellow commission members, I am very excited and ready to start working for the improvement of our sport with all of you. As Steve Jobs said: ‘Great things are never done by one person, they're done by a team of people’.”

Members of the commission, which shall serve from 2021 until 2025, include:

  • Aukje van Weert (NED)
  • Christopher Smolkovic (GER)
  • Daniel Serman (CHI)
  • Ekaterina Deulina (RUS)
  • Emma Hawke (SWE) - Vice Chair
  • Iva Vejmolova (CZE)
  • Jay Koh (SGP)
  • Jeff Thomson (CAN)
  • Josh Larson (USA)
  • Kilian Fischhuber (AUT)
  • Marco Jubes (BEL)
  • Mateuzs Miroslav (POL)
  • Pavlos Georgiades (CYP) - Chair
  • Yoshiko Nishitani (JPN)

L/R: IFSC General Director Piero Rebaudengo, Coaches Commission Chair Pavlos Georgiades, and Event Officer Alessandro Di Cato

IFSC Commissions

© 2019    All Rights Reserved