(c) FFME/AgenceKros - Remi Fabregue

In 2017 the International Paralympic Committee granted the IFSC the status of “Recognized International Federation”.  

The IFSC has been hosting paraclimbing competitions since 2006, when the first international event saw athletes from four National Federations compete in Ekaterinburg, Russia.  The movement has grown in recent years, with a regular circuit being added to the IFSC calendar from 2010 and World Championships taking place from July 2011. It has become tradition that the Paraclimbing World Championships run alongside the World Championships, promoting athletes with a disability on the same stage as other athletes. Proud of the growth of the paraclimbing community and the standard of competitions, the IFSC remains dedicated to developing and strengthening the competitions and support available to athletes.

The Paraclimbing Commission was elected by the Plenary Assembly on 9 March 2013. In addition two athlete representatives, Frederik Leys and Oriane Defourné, were elected as members during the Paris Climbing and Paraclimbing World Championships 2016. Currently the Paraclimbing Commission is composed of:

President Andy Coltart GBR
Member Oleg Plokhikh RUS
Member Craig DeMartino USA
Member Sebastien Gnecchi FRA
Member Simone Salvagnin ITA
Member Urko Carmona Barandiaran ESP
Member Frederik Leys BEL
Member Oriane Moreno Defourné FRA

 Andy Coltart has been appointed President of the Paraclimbing Commission by the IFSC Executive Board following the first Paraclimbing Commission meeting held 8 May 2013 in Torino.

For information on the IFSC Paraclimbing World Championships, please refer to the World Championships page.

back to top